The Drunken Baby Stage–toddling beside God

Standard

I used to own a daycare with my best friend.

We had kids of all ages, but we had a certain favorite stage–the toddler stage.

We called it the drunken baby stage.

They would walk around like they had a few too many and then fall down or run smack into something.  They would either giggle or cry, but one of us would help them up and set them on their way again.

They would do the same thing about two seconds later, and eventually we would grow weary and just let them stay there on the floor.

Today I am thinking about it, and well, that pretty much sums up how I feel sometimes about my walk with God. Except He never gets weary of picking me back up.

Oh I am not graceful, and I never will be–which is why I am so thankful for His grace that covers me. Let me tell you friends, if you often feel like you are mud on holy boots, I can totally identify.

This is true both in my physical walking and in my faith. I get really steady on my feet sometimes and then I fall down–or run smack into temptation.

Temptation to gossip or to binge eat, oh there are many that sometimes snare me.  Some days I stay right by his side and other days, I fall down.

Just like a drunk.

Maybe this is an inappropriate comparison, I don’t know. Truthfully, though, we all struggle and we all go through this toddler stage with God.

I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out.–Romans 7:18.

Even Paul struggled like this, and that is because we all fall short in the glory of God.

You know though, every single one of those little toddlers grew stronger and stronger because they keep getting back up and taking yet another step.

They walk with confidence. Now they can dance.

That’s where our journey with God will eventually take us if we just keep getting up and seeking Him.

Paul did not stop where he was, instead he kept seeking God and his legs got stronger and stronger. Paul shows us that victory will be found for those who just keep on moving forward.

But thanks be to God that, though you used to be slaves to sin, you wholeheartedly obeyed the form of teaching to which you were entrusted. You have been set free from sin and have become slaves to righteousness.” Romans 6:17-18

As I keep going I feel myself gaining strength and confidence. I keep seeking His guidance and I am beginning to learn who He is, and through that, I am learning to walk.

I still fall down a lot, and I always will.

I am starting to dance.

2 thoughts on “The Drunken Baby Stage–toddling beside God

Leave a Reply

