30 Day Challenge: From Slob to not as much of a Slob

Standard

My expectations aren’t exactly low. Realistic might be a better word.

See here is the thing: I am slob.  I am the kind of girl who just flies by the seat of her pants and then drops them in the middle of the floor.

I don’t mean to be, and most of the time I am totally blind to it until things like this:

1.  I have to search the house for something I can’t find–like one of the kids.

2.  Company shows up and I pretend that the house was just ransacked by thieves–AGAIN.

3.  When things like this are discovered in my dish towel drawer.

sock

I recently was loaned a book by my dear friend Jennifer Wingerter at http://thegreatjugglingact.com. The book- Balanced: Finding Center as a Work at Home Mom by Tricia Goyer (author of best selling book to hit movie Mom’s Night Out) and in it are some awesome tips for organizing the not easily managed work at home life.

I am not always great with tips, though.  I will screen shot them, make lists about them and basically have all the best intentions (good intentions are my thing) but when it comes to actually changing my ways, stubborn habits constantly horn their way back in.

However, there was something about this book that was different. She didn’t promote a perfectly set calendar but instead taught me to be a better steward of my time.

Sometimes I throw valuable minutes away. If I have five minutes, I grab my phone and browse or do something equally as non-productive. I kept track of my time doing this and came to realize I wasted close to two hours a day!

Yes, that’s seriously embarrassing but since I already told you I am a slob I might as well put it all out there. Oh I also hide food; most of you know that though.

Ummm…anyway.

So here is what I am challenging myself to do–and you if you want to! I am going to use these minutes and see what I can get done.  I started today and already seeing how productive I can be in a really short amount of time.

I had a scheduled phone conference at 10am (which means I need to be at my phone at 9:55 to make the call), and it was 9:40. Usually I would have just played on my phone or kind of waited around. Instead I set out to see what I could get done in fifteen minutes, and I was amazed.

  • 9:40-9:45am: Put dishes in dishwasher away and loaded cereal bowls.
  • 9:45-9:50am: Load of towels went into the washing machine.
  • 9:50-9:52am: Swept up dry dog food by dog bowls.
  • 9:53-9:54am: Busted into a little song and dance with broom handle microphone. Performed quick encore requested by canine audience–I think that’s what they wanted at least.
  • 9:54-9:55am: At my desk next to my phone.

My house is still quite a mess, but I realized that if I can do all that in such a short amount of time there is a lot more I get done in those usually wasted minutes.

So in tiny little increments I will attempt to get my house together and I will take you along with me.  Do it alongside me, or just read about my journey to feel better about your own life.

I will be posting pictures along the way with little extra time saving challenges, and believe me, if this thing is a success for me it will be for you too. Follow my blog to get daily posts relating to this 30 day (and hopefully lifelong) challenge.

I will always be that girl flying by her pants and dropping them on the floor–I admit my concern about the mental images I am creating here. However, I hope this will remind me to go pick them up sometimes.

Today’s challenge: Find ten minutes you might have wasted on your phone and tell me what you get done in the kitchen during that time. PLEASE comment and tell me how you did! I need all the encouragement I can get.

Leave a Reply

