Unplugged

Standard

me and Connor

Have you ever witnessed an on-screen moment when the actor drops his role, turns to the camera and just gets real?

Well keep the camera rolling, because I am doing that right now.

I love doing this blog. Capturing moments and turning them into something special is what I do.  Be it funny or serious, a trial or a tribute, or praises to the Lord I serve, writing these stories is a way to bring those things out of me. At the same time, I often feel boxed in by the format of this blog, and I don’t feel like I can engage with my readers or really get to know you.

Getting to know you is really important to me.

I want to keep doing my breaking news stories because it is a chance to amp up the creativity, and a fun way to share moments. At the same time, I want to pour my heart into this little space and give God every word I have to work with.  My all-time favorite writer has expressed this in the most perfect way.

“When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and I could say, “I used everything you gave me.”–Erma Bombeck.

So here I am, and I stand before Him offering a bucketful of thoughts and dreams to use for His glory. What is funny about that is that I am only giving back to Him what He gave me. I will continue with my breaking news formats, but I also have short stories in other formats and sometimes I want to look away from the camera and just speak from the heart.

I want you to speak from the heart too. Tell me in the comments how you’re using your talent for His purpose.

One thought on “Unplugged

Leave a Reply

